Join us in Nashville for
"To Graft or Not to Graft" - February 15-16, 2019 Event Info



Philip J. Boyne Faculty Research Award

Osteo Science Foundation is proud to award research grants that support Junior Faculty in their pursuit of high quality research. We are proud to be their partners and to help lead the way by funding initiatives that are making a true difference.

The following are grant recipients of the Philip J. Boyne Junior Faculty Research Award.

August 2017

Ryan Tomlinson, PhD

Ryan Tomlinson, PhD - Thomas Jefferson University

The Principal Investigator is Dr. Ryan E. Tomlinson, PhD, Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Thomas Jefferson University. His research in bone repair has yielded substantial acclaim in the field, including the Harold M. Frost Young Investigator Award, the Endocrine Fellows Foundation Award, the ASBMR Young Investigator Award, and the IBMS Alice L. Jee Young Investigator Award. The Co-Principal Investigators are Dr. Robert Diecidue, DMD, MD, MBA, MSPH, Professor and Chair; and Dr. Daniel Taub, DDS, MD, Associate Professor and Vice-Chair of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Thomas Jefferson University, both accomplished physician-scientists in the field of oral surgery.

This study on the role of NSAIDs in dental implant osseointegration is divided into two specific aims, for new implants (Aim 1) and failed implants (Aim 2). In Aim 1, subjects receiving maxillary dental implants will be randomized to take either naproxen or placebo following surgery, with longitudinal, quantitative data on osseointegration collected by Osstell radiofrequency analysis. In Aim 2, failed implants will be retrieved from subjects who provide NSAID usage information. These specimens will be analyzed using microCT, undecalcfied histology, and protein analysis. Together, our results will quantitatively determine the risks of NSAIDs on dental implant osseointegration.

August 2016

Yunqing Kang, PhD

Yunqing Kang, PhD - Florida Atlantic University

Multiple channels in bioceramic scaffolds promote rapid vascularization and robust bone formation


Dr. Yunqing Kang received his PhD degree in Biomedical Engineering from Sichuan University, and did post-doctoral research in bone tissue regeneration from the Department of Osteopaedic Surgery, Stanford University. Currently, he is an Assistant Professor at Florida  Atlantic University since 2014. Dr. Kang's research interest is  craniofacial bone tissue regeneration.

Our goal in this project is to develop new functional bone scaffolds for the preservation of post-extraction sockets and alveolar bone augmentation. In this proposal we will use our developed template-casting method to create multiple hollow channels in porous β-TCP scaffolds. We will examine the effect of the channeled macroporous scaffolds on angiogenesis and osteogenesis in vitro, and we will also study the functionality of the multiple channels in the macroporous scaffolds to promote bone formation in a rat mandibular bone defects. The interconnection of hollow channels and macropores in the scaffold minimizes the diffusion distance of nutrient and blood supply, thus significantly promoting rapid vascularization and robust bone formation. This “off-the-shelf” scaffold will be convenient for dentists to directly use it with appropriate shaping treatments. This scaffold will have the potential not only for preservation of the post-extraction socket but also for bone regeneration of craniofacial bone defects in the future.

Ismael Khouly, DDS, MS, PhD

Ismael Khouly, DDS, MS, PhD - New York University

Effect Of Alveolar Ridge Preservation After Tooth Extraction in the Posterior Maxilla: A Randomized Trial


Dr. Khouly is currently Associate Director of Periodontology & Implant Dentistry at Bluestone Center for Clinical Research, and Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery at New York University (NYU).He obtained his DDS between Spain, UK and Norway. He also obtained a master degree in tissue engineering. At the NYU, he completed a 3-year advanced program in implant dentistry. This was followed by his PhD in biomedicine, specialized in sinus bone augmentation. Dr Khouly has also published in major journals, and lectured nationally and internationally. He is also a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral Implantologist, and Diplomate and Fellow of the International Congress of Oral Implantologists. 

The aim of this prospective, randomized, blinded, controlled trial is to evaluate through a split-mouth design the postextraction dimensional changes in the posterior maxilla occurred in the same subject following alveolar ridge preservation using porcine-derived xenograft combined with a collagen membrane or extraction alone. Subjects who will require double extraction of contralateral second maxillary premolar and first/second maxillary molar will be recruited at Bluestone Center for Clinical Research at New York University College of Dentistry. Study-subjects who meet the inclusion and exclusion criteria will be randomly assigned to receive both alveolar ridge preservation and extraction alone.


Osteo Science Foundation
1650 Market Street, Suite 3600
Philadelphia, PA 19103
855-891-2877 Toll Free

Osteo Science Foundation is an independent, privately funded 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization.